LAUNCH Clayton Utz Travelling Scholarship

!Metro Arts
Level 2 / 109 Edward St, Brisbane

10 - 18 December 2008

Currently all works from this exhibition are featured at the Clayton Utz Brisbane Office, until the end of June 2009.

Philip Bacon, Director of Philip Bacon Galleries, will judge the winner of the second LAUNCH Clayton Utz Travelling Scholarship for 2008. Twenty-five artists have been short-listed for the Scholarship, an initiative of national law firm Clayton Utz to give emerging Queensland artists a chance to further their careers.

The artists are: Paul Adair, Tony Albert, Nick Ashby, Sue Beyer, Renata Buziak, Catherine Chui, Simon Degroot, Dave Groom, Adriane Hayward, Kirra Jamison, Vivienne Kelly, Dane Lovett, Hugh Manning, Rachel Marsden, Lyne Marshall, Nicola Moss, Deb Mostert, Paul Mumme, Marisa Purcell, Simon Roots, Luisa Rossitto, Pamela See, Tiffany Shafran, Walter Stahl, and Charles Street.

The Scholarship is awarded twice a year. The winner will receive $5,000 towards further study and travel and have their work - along with their fellow finalists - exhibited at the Metro Arts Centre from 10 - 18 December 2008. The exhibition will include painting, photography, sculpture, and works on paper. Clayton Utz Brisbane managing partner Michael Klug said the firm was proud to support emerging talent in Queensland's arts community.

“There are so many talented artists waiting for the opportunity to showcase their work and a means by which to develop their careers. We hope that the LAUNCH initiative will give a few of them the chance to do so,” he said.

For information please contact:

Benjamin Milton Hampe, Manager – Visual Art Projects, Positive Solutions Ph: 07 3891 3872 Mobile: 0402 173 288 Email:

string(48) "Smarty error: [plugin] unable to fetch: (32764)"